Time (Mama Bakari)

Where do you live?

I live in Tanga, Tanzania by the coast

How old are you as the main caregiver?

I am 38 years old

How many children are in the family?

My mum and I look after 8 children in my family: There’s Hassani (19), Muhammed (15), Mwanamvua (13), Ali (11), Boni (9), Fatuma (7), Bakari (3), and baby Selman (22 months)

What program do you and your children attend at Pamoja Leo?

Familia Kwanza (Family First, Free Early Childhood Education for Vulnerable Children), Mamapreneurs (Business Support for caregivers), Garden Program (Fresh Fruit and Vegetables)

Tell us a little bit about your life:

I come from a small village, and came to Tanga as a child. I went to primary school, and then. Now I live with my mother, and life is difficult for me. 

What is your goal for yourself and your family?

My goal is to improve my life because it is very difficult right now.

What is your dream for your child?

My hope is that the older children will be able to find work, and that the younger ones will get to finish school.

What is your best parenting advice?

My advice is to find a way to help other parents who are struggling because there are always people who could use a helping hand.

Something that makes you happy or is important to you:

It is important for me to be able to fix my house and have enough food for my children.

What do you want the world to know about your family?

I want the world to know we are going through troubles.

What do you like most about the program you attend?

I am so glad that my son is able to get an education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *