Fatuma (Mama Hamisi Mdogo)

Where do you live?

I live in a seaside neighborhood of Tanga, Tanzania

How old are you as the main caregiver?

I am 20 years old

How many children are in the family?

1 son, Hamisi, who is 2 years old, and my three younger siblings.

What program do you and your children attend at Pamoja Leo?

Familia Kwanza (Family First, Free Early Childhood Education for Vulnerable Children) Mamapreneurs (Business support for guardians), Teen Mum Support Group, Gardening Program (Fresh Fruit, Vegetables, and Eggs from Pamoja Leo Garden)

Tell us a little bit about your life:

I live on the coast of Tanga, Tanzania. I am the second born in a family of five children. I consider myself to live a normal life, not too hard, but not good either. I enjoy doing my tailoring training, which I chose to pursue myself after I had to leave school when I was pregnant. I live with my mother and father, my son, and my 3 younger siblings. My mother and father do small jobs to make sure the family can meet their basic needs. My siblings are studying in school, and my two-year-old son Hamisi is in the nursery school at Pamoja Leo. I really enjoy doing my tailoring work which helps me to fulfill my family’s needs.

What is your goal for yourself and your family?

My goal for myself is to become a successful tailor once I finish training.

Something that makes you happy or is important to you:

I am happy when I am working as a tailor

What do you want the world to know about your family?

I want the world to know that I love my son so much and I love being able to care for him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *