Miss Z

Where do you live?

I live in a seaside neighborhood of Tanga, Tanzania

How old are you as the main caregiver?

I live with my mum and dad, and sometimes I live with my grandmother.

How many children are in the family?

There are five children in my family: My four brothers and me

What program do you and your children attend at Pamoja Leo?

Girls Group

Tell us a little bit about your life:

My name is Zayana and I am 14 years old. I grew up  in the same neighborhood of Tanga, Tanzania where I live now. My mother sells chickens and my father is a fisherman. I attend secondary school. My family life is difficult. My mum has a problem with alcohol and sometimes my mum and dad fight as a result of my mum’s alcohol abuse. Sometimes I live with my parents and sometimes my brothers and I go and stay with our grandmother. My older brother also helps my younger brothers and me a bit financially.

What is your goal for yourself/what do you want to be when you grow up?

My goal is to study hard and help my family. When I grow up, I want to become a doctor.

What is your best advice for other girls?

My best advice for other girls is to put effort into studying and going to school, because life is difficult and education can give you opportunities.

Something that makes you happy or is important to you:

Being around people makes me feel happy – I’m an outgoing person

What do you want the world to know about your family?

I want the world to know that I am a firm believer in the power of Education.

What are you most looking forward to from working with Pamoja Leo? OR What do you like most about the program you attend?

I really enjoy the cooking sessions we have in Girls Group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *